top of page
  • Writer's pictureDominic Konareski

XFL Announces Team Names For The 2023 Season

Updated: May 18, 2023

The XFL has announced the eight teams for what is a comeback season for the alternate football series. The eight teams will be spread out in five different states with the season starting in February of 2023.

The original XFL was founded in 2001, as a joint venture between the World Wrestling Federation (WWE) and NBC spearheaded by Vince McMahon along with NBC executive Dick Ebersol. The league ran for just a single season before shutting down.

The XFL would come back with Alpha Entertainment announcing a new incarnation of the XFL, which featured a 10-week inaugural season beginning in January or February of 2020. The first week featured an average of 3.1 million viewers in the first week, dropping to 1.5 million viewers during its fifth and final week. The season would be suspended on March 12th, 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the remaining games would never end up being played with the league not coming back in 2021 or 2022.

The XFL will be coming back in 2023 after it was purchased by Dwayne Johnson, they will have to compete with the USFL for the offseason football viewership. These will be two small football leagues that can easily grow to something big if managed correctly.

The XFL has announced their team names:

Arlington Renegades

Houston Roughnecks

San Antonio Brahmas

DC Defenders

Seattle Sea Dragons

Orlando Guardians

St. Louis BattleHawks

Vegas Vipers

Subscribe to our YouTube (IT’S FREE) here.

278 views0 comments


bottom of page